This is a collection of traditional Christmas Carols arranged for String Quartet. I originally wrote these for my Dad's students, since my Dad is a violin instructor and puts on a String Quartet each year at the Christmas recital (he plays viola and my Mom plays Cello.

The Christmas Carols included in this collection are:

  1. The First Noêl
  2. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
  3. Go Tell It on the Mountain
  4. Good King Wenceslas
  5. 12 Days of Christmas
  6. Ding Dong Merrily on High
  7. Up on the House Top
  8. It Came Upon the Midnight Clear
  9. Jolly Old St Nicholas
  10. Un flambeau, Jeannette, Isabelle
  11. Silent Night
  12. We Three Kings
  13. We Wish You a Merry Christmas

You can download the full score including the parts on Dropbox.

Here is a 3 voice fugue in E minor for Classical Guitar that I wrote in 2013. It is an original composition. I love the format of the fugue as it strikes a balance between contrapuntal and thematic development.

Regular Expressions is a piece for Wind Orchestra that I wrote in the space of a couple weeks for the INTERNATIONAL COMPOSITION COMPETITION HARELBEKE. My piece was one of 100 entrees from 32 different countries and was unfortunately not chosen for a prize.

But mostly for me it was mostly an attempt at writing a work that lasted 15 minutes in a minimum amount of time available to me at the end of April. I would spend some time in the library copy and pasting themes because of my tendency to not fully develop a theme before moving on to another musical idea. But in a work of this size, length, and duration it's important to not move too quickly without fully exploring the theme.

Regular Expressions is a reflection on an attempt at affirming one's presence in today's chaotic, busy and sometimes contradictory world. The struggle to affirm is reflected in the somewhat abrupt changes from tonality to atonality. The melodic and tonal elements are there only as an illusion of stability and serve to show that everything is constantly evolving and becoming more complex in our modern times. But beyond the chaotic elements lies a message of optimism and hope.

Check out the score on Musescore here:

Listen to an audio rendering here. Thanks to Mark Vendy for the recording.

I was first introduced to the Bulgarian dance "Paidushko horo" by a friend who plays flute. She had the score to Four Macedonian Pieces, a suite for Alto Flute and Classical Guitar written by Serbian guitarist and composer Miroslav Tadic. The Pajdushka is the second movement of this suite.  I enjoyed the idea of mixing the short, punchy 2-3 rhythm which is punctuated by a longer measure of 5/4 time.

This Pajdushka is a short 5 minute work for orchestra with the theme presented at the beginning and followed by a more atonal development. The ending is heroic but has a more calm finish.

The Three Simple Quartets (en français : trois quatuors pour débutants) is a short three movement work for String Quartet written in 2008. I originally wrote the work for my Dad's beginner string group.

The work was featured in a Spring Concert by the Magenta String Quartet entitled "Fresh From the Pen". The performance took place on 25 May 2013 at Eastminster United Church, in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

The first movement of the "Three Simple Quartets" was inspired by a beginner piece for Strings entitled "Space Attack" by Robert Spearing.

My composition was featured on the Australian radio station 3MBS hosted by Mark Vendy. Check out the broadcast here.

You can download the score on my Issuu page.

Follow along with the score on Soundslice:

Join my Mailing List

Email address:

Back to Top