Brett Vachon

Contemporary New Age Guitar

The second movement is marked "Adagio" and begins with a slow, stately theme played by the low brass, the clarinets and the bassoons. In this movement many stylistic influences of Anton Bruckner and Dvořák can be heard, especially in the orchestration and the structure of the whole movement. The third movement is marked "Scherzo" and is written in two-four time. Echoes of Johannes Brahms and Franz Schubert are present.

The dramatic "Finale" to the Symphony in C minor brings the work to a resounding end. After an impressive, grandiose introduction (Largo), the movement at first quietly moves into a fast-paced Allegro in three-quarter time before bursting into an imposing tutti with the full orchestra. Finally the introduction returns to introduce a satisfying conclusion in the Romantic style of Beethoven and Schumann.

If you are interested in seeing the Full Score of the Symphony in C Minor you can visit my issu page.

World Premiere

In October 2017, I had an opportunity to hear this work live for the first time. The Quinte Symphony Orchestra, an amateur orchestra under the direction of Maestro Dan Tremblay, performed this work at a world premiere concert in Belleville, Ontario. Here are the videos from the world premiere.



Tarot Cards by Brett Vachon


© 2019 Brett Vachon - Guitarist and composer
Back to Top